THANK YOU Peeling Partners!!! Summer 2010 ROCKED!

My Green Crayon is ready to roll for the fall & holiday season! Ohmygoodness….I was blown away by these amazing volunteers who sweat it out this summer along side of me, peeing bags of crayons until their nails went waxy!

Up until this summer, I’d spend 2-3 hours each day (during peak times) peeling the crayon donations, all by my lonesome…taking them to waiting rooms, road trips, camping…EVERYWHERE! As soothing as I have found peeling to be (seriously!), it was a huge task to peel enough to bake enough crayons to make a difference. Having so many friends peel with me has made all of the difference – I’m set!

I did my best to keep track of who peeled what, so that I could thank you in quantitative terms for the number of hours have been graciously donated…..and I’d like to share that list with everyone!!!!

Joyelle / Brianna / Nathan Soucier 3 bags
Corinne Kerwin 6 bags
Emma Kerwin 5 bags
Danielle Kerwin 5 bags
Denise / Samantha / Nicole Mullin 10 bags
Karen Kerwin 1 bag
Mariah / Lynne Krauter / Theresa 6 bags
Carol / Heather / Rachel Canigiani 1 bag
Michele Ball 4 bags
Sophia Pham / Kim-Van / Tam-My 2 bags
Michelle McFadden / Catherine / Christina / Stephen 1 bag
Donna Bondi / Rebekah / Bridget 1 bag
Wendy Myers and granddaughters (I’ve lost count!) 15 bags
Sally my friend 1 bag
Peggy Vellner 2 bags
Krista Wagner 3 bags
Paulette Whitekettle 1 bag
Carla McCabe / Matthew / Madison 6 bags
Morgan Lynn 1 bag
Stephanie Aguila / Olivia / Sophia 6 bags
Holly Ricks & family 8 bags
TerriAnn Bean / Catherine / Matt (still peeling!) 6 bags
Andrea Kehler & Daisy Scouts 10 bags
Goddard School of Schwenksville
Duffy family 1 bag
Kelly Hoy & Girl Scouts 8 bags
The Petrowski Family 8 bags
The Kenter Family 1 bag
The Toron Family 1 bag
Gretchen & Carrie & staff….untold bags!
Kathleen Murphy….Patient Peeler Extraordinaire 🙂

Soooooo……by the roughest of estimates, and with much grace extended from everyone for the numbers I’ve gotten wrong…..this amazing peeling team has peeled more than

124

bags of crayons!!!!!! At an average of 2 hours of peeling / bag, that’s 248 hours of labor these peelers have contributed to My Green Crayon!

Words cannot express my gratitude for so much selfless help!
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!

P.S. We actually ran out of crayons to be peeled by the end of August, which is crazy if you’d seen the totes we’d started with! We are always ready to welcome any new donations…whether from a school or restaurant, or just from the corners of your couch :-). And if you have a group that needs a service project, and would like to be a Peeling Partner…please feel free to contact me! Thank you!

3 Comments

  1. britsontour said,

    October 12, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Kristen, we were just using one of your crayons, bought at the cheer/football breakfast. Caitlin wanted to see what your website said and I suddenly realized you’d made the crayons, cool!
    We’re back from our travels and are back at church – 9am service, haven’t seen you about yet, hopefully will at some point 🙂
    Ali Valentine

    • kristenkerwin said,

      October 12, 2010 at 11:06 pm

      Ali, Welome home! Thanks for your note…wow, someone looked at my blog! 🙂 Glad that Caitlin likes the crayon…the project in general has been going very well, so I’m excited! My craft open house is a month away from today (been working on a blog post / invite all day!)….yipes! My mom had been my chief helper the past two years, but she passed suddenly the week before last Christmas (sadness….). So it’s been up in the air, whether I’d continue with the crayons and the open house (we skipped the walk4water this summer – just too heartbroken, too bogged down with estate stuff…). But God has encouraged me, and Bill and the kids are behind me, so onward we go! It is actually very good medicine to look outward, to serve Him this way – and a great way to get the house clean! 🙂

      How was your trip ’round the country? We thought of you so many times, especially during the summer when we were traveling and I’d wonder “how does she do it?” 🙂 I truly hope it all went well, that you stayed safe, and that many many memories were made (and soon to be scrapbooked, if not done already!) 😉 You are making such beautiful memories for your family….a sacrifice well worth the result!

      I hope to see your smile at church again soon – we have switched to the 2nd service, since we couldn’t seem to get everyone motivated to get up any earlier! It’s been more peaceful around here as a result….I’ll take it! But hope to see you in between services sometime and catch up a bit!

      Thanks so much for taking time to write…you were part of God’s answer to my specific prayer of “Lord, I could use a little encouragement here!!!” Thank you! 🙂 Kristen

  2. britsontour said,

    October 12, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    So sorry to hear about your Mom. Heartbreakingly, my Mum also passed away earlier this year, while we were in Nevada. Caitlin and I flew back to the UK, thankfully we had wonderful renters in the house and they fedexed our passports over to NV. You think you have your life all mapped out but realize God has other plans and everything’s on His timing, which is often so drastically different to our own.

    We had a truly wonderful year, the return to the ‘same everyday’, the schedule, the activities has actually been incredibly tough. We are still adjusting. It is made a little more complicated by the fact that the older two – 4th and 6th grade – decided to stay homeschooled this year but the younger two went into public school; next year will be different again I’m sure, so we’re taking every day as it comes and I continue to try and survive and organize with no time to myself, figuring they’ll be grown and gone one day, so I need to make the most of what I’m given right now!

    I don’t think I have your email anymore, we had a nightmare with the email at the beginning of the trip and had to change things, meaning many of the emails are somewhere in cyberspace. Please email me: Alison@TheValentineFamily.co.uk, maybe I can chat without logging into your blog – but I will link it to mine: http://www.touringbrits.blogspot.com 🙂

    Ali


Leave a Reply

